The King of Hate Forums
VivekPharaoh

How Phil is Playing P5

I haven't made a post on the forums in a while, as I've been absorbed in real life stuff. For instance, I'm currently studying abroad in Tokyo for the rest of the year, and enjoying myself a ton so far. I recently saw a billboard for Persona 5, and it got me thinking about Phil.

Now, I understand the allure behind streaming Persona 5: Its a new release, and will most likely garner new subs and followers. However, what made the Persona 4 playthrough great, and what is currently making Danganronpa a great playthrough, is the fact that they were done with no stream interaction, and no "shout-outs" and whatnot intruding on the gameplay. I think I speak for a lot of OG DSP fans when I say that I enjoyed the old streaming style a bit more than the new one. However, you can't please everyone, and I understand that.

JRPGs in general lend themselves very well to the hyper-focused gaming style Phil can have. Thoughts?

• Upvote 1

I agree with that. When it comes to story driven games whether they be rpgs, visual novels, or just cutscene heavy (ala Heavy Rain) it is a real quality breaker IMO.

Now its not impossible for it to be done right, but due to Phil's commentary style and how he approaches and plays games, when he plays a story driven game with live chat or streaming I feel it definitely detracts from the video and even his commentary quality.

Some games work better being streamed, and some content creators can pull it off regardless of the game they play.

However, of all of the Let's Plays I have seen from Phil his Non streamed story driven game playhroughs are his strongest videos IMO.

Playing P5 on stream detracts from the video for me with the way Phil does his commentary and stream communication. And this is coming from a newer viewer.